Eid Treasures: the Cookie Edition

Eid Mubarak! The blessed month has come to an end, and I write this with a fulfilled feeling edged with longing for Ramadan to remain, strange as that may sound to those unexposed to the whole Ramadan experience.  Nevertheless, no one can deny that we look forward with bright happy hearts to the holiday that follows, Eid ul Fitr.  Islamic holidays are marked with community prayers early in the morning, quickly followed by plentiful opportunities to meet friends, hang out with family, eat splendid treats and take beautiful afternoon naps!

This was my first Eid ul Fitr away from the family, and admittedly it was a mite bit difficult in the morning—there’s nothing quite like walking out of the Eid prayer with hundreds upon hundreds upon hundreds of people and, like a scavenger, routing out all your relatives and friends!  The ultimate hunt for celebratory elation!  The husband and I were missing that but no matter, that’s what Facetime is for. :)  And I had planned a special surprise for my family—delicious treats sent overnight just for them!  I’ve never mailed food before, and I’m not sure if I overdid (or underdid, for that matter) it, but I individually wrapped homemade cookies for them, stuffed those into sealed bags, placed those in a randomly designed tin, and bubble-wrapped that in a USPS box for overnight delivery.  They arrived in edible order, that’s all that matters.wrapped and ready

I wanted to wait for them to call me in surprise, but thankfully I had the sense to ask my dad (repeatedly!!) to check the door once they came home from their own outings because otherwise they’d have left my poor cookies on the doorstep without a moment’s glance or realization.  Oy!  Families! Make it so hard to drop a simple surprise…

Anyhoo, thus arises this Special Cookie Edition of Coriander Dreams, with not one but two scrumptious recipes for your delight: My Best Chocolate Chip Cookies ever, and Sweet Coconut Sugar Cookies.

Let’s begin with the classic…

My Best Chocolate Chip Cookies Ever

(fyi I cut these ingredients in half because I was making two kinds and otherwise it would have been overload,  but I’m giving you my standard recipe)

Ingredients

  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1 cup light brown sugar
  • 2 sticks (1 cup) butter, softened
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp almond extract
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 3 cups flour
  • chocolate chips of choice (milk, semi-sweet, white etc)

As always, first start by preheating oven to 375 degrees, and have a greased baking sheet ready.

I still get an adrenalin rush when I bust out my KitchenAid Mixer, so this recipe revved up my fasting gears when I pulled it out and snapped on the flat mixing attachment to begin. Of course, you can use any mixer (by hand is possible too, but the first step might tire you out a little bit).

Begin by blending sugars and butter together on low speed, until light and creamy.  Add eggs, vanilla, and almond extract and mix roughly 30 seconds to 1 minute on low/medium speed.

Separately, sift the baking soda, flour, and salt together, and proceed to slowly add this dry mixture to the wet ingredients, simultaneously while gently mixing.  Once everything is incorporated and you have a consistent doughy mixture, cease mixing! No need to overdo it hehe.  Now, simply add chocolate chips (and even nuts etc) of your choice and fold them in until evenly dispersed.Drop rounded tablespoonfuls spaced out on baking sheet.  I used a measuring tablespoon because it’s rounded and allowed for relatively uniform cookies.  Place on center rack and bake for 10-12 min.  I know from experience that going over that time will leave you with unhappy cookies.  That is what two batches are for though! I could keep the over-baked ones (I couldn’t confine the sudden desire to dance around in the living room any longer, and then 3 extra minutes stole away like bandits in the mist) and send my family the heavenly precise 11’45” cookies brewing with exultation.chocolate chip cookies baking

Remove from the pan and let cool elsewhere, preferably a wire rack.  Then try not to salivate all over them.  Quick and easy!

On to Round Two… Coconut Sugar Cookies

Ingredients

  • 2 1/4 cups flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 2 oz cream cheese, softened
  • 2/3 cup sweetened shredded coconut, chopped fine
  • 6 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 tablespoon milk
  • 1/3 cup sugar (for rolling, not inclusive in dough)
  • 1 tsp cinnamon (or more)

I found a recipe online at Sweet Pea’s Kitchen which I mildly adjusted to only use coconut (no lime) and I absolutely adore it!

Begin with oven set at 350 degrees.  Have greased baking sheets ready.

Prepare your ingredients separately, mixing all dry goods in one bowl (flour, coconut, baking soda, baking powder, and salt).  In another bowl begin combining sugar with cream cheese.  You can whisk this by hand, or use a mixer. Pour the melted butter in, mixing it so everything is a gooey mess of love, and add the oil, egg, and milk.  Once the wet ingredients are nicely mixed, gently fold in the dry ingredients until you have a soft tasty dough.

Now the fun part!  Place that additional sugar and cinnamon in plate or shallow bowl, and begin rolling balls of dough in your hands, then into the sugar mixture.  Place the dough balls evenly spread on the pan, flatten each one with your sugar-crusted hand (worked fine for me at least) and sprinkle on top with the remaining sugar mixture and extra shredded coconut if you like.

Now just bake them until they appear to be golden around the edges but the centers are a pale golden color.  This took about 15 minutes for me (depends on the oven).  Start checking them around 11 minutes though.  Remove them to a wire rack, and let them cool down sufficiently. Then hide them from your husband who is bound to consume 5 before you even have a chance to start wrapping them for your family.  Hehe.

coconut sugar cookie triumphant

Another time I will discuss the intrepid journey I embarked upon for Eid dinner.  Another time.  for now, eat cookies and brush your teeth after! No cavities for you!

One thought on “Eid Treasures: the Cookie Edition

Leave a Reply

