Versatile Cauliflower Roast

20120502-230325.jpg

Another quick and easy for you. I decided to experiment with my venture to do as little in the kitchen as possible and still procure a decent if not delectable dish. What’s the easiest way? The oven. What’s the easiest no hassle food? A vegetable that doesn’t require any chopping, peeling, burning. Hmmmm… How about a whole cauliflower head? Yeah I know I’ve been on a vegetarian kick lately, and I promise to bring something sweet and decadent and super unhealthy¬†soon! But I had to share my laziness simple trick with you.

Simply take a whole cauliflower, rub it generously with olive oil, then sprinkle with salt, pepper and dried basil. Lastly, take your favorite hot sauce (I used Nandos garlic sauce) and drizzle all over. Then just wrap in foil and place in a preheated oven at 375 degrees.

I left it in for about 35-40 minutes… And then removed it and voila! A delicious appetizer for sure. Are you wondering how to eat it? Well, some options:

1. Chop in quarters, serve as a soft side with a squeeze of lemon
2. Serve whole and let friends dig in with a fork, with a dip on the side
3. Dice it up and toss with some light pasta…
4. Or stir fry with other veggies and/or chicken or shrimp for a nice contrast of succulent and crunchy

Or do your own thing! As for me, next time I’m marinating it for a long while in some intense spices just to see what happens.

4 thoughts on “Versatile Cauliflower Roast

  1. I don’t even LIKE cauliflower, but this looked so yummy that I decided to try it (and bring it to my in-laws for dinner). It turned out great, and everybody liked it. Mmmm. Easy, healthy and tasty. Thanks.

    • So glad you enjoyed it! I had no idea how it would turn out when I first tried it but seriously! What wonders can happen with veggies we otherwise don’t prefer…

  2. I thought I might try this by putting foil in the base of a dish add the cauliflower & cover with a cheese sauce cook with the foil over then about 10 minutes before its done open the foil over the top so it can brown.

Leave a Reply

