Redemption Cheddar Biscuits

ALYAVILLE:  Things did not go as planned last Thanksgiving, and as a result I had a lot of redeeming to do.  At least when it came to my bread.  My friend Z had an early potluck thanksgiving dinner with her friends, and I volunteered to bring something in the bread/biscuit category, something I rarely ventured into but always enjoyed doing (I think my deep unadulterated love for bread has kept me from baking too much – I’d be a ginormous doughy ball of glee if that were the case).  Having found a recipe for slightly sweet honey biscuits, I thought, “Hells Yeah! This sounds delectable!” and thus the morning of, set out to create these glorious buns.

First Mistake right there.  Should have tried it out earlier.  When my first batch turned into strangely unleavened rocks, I thought I best try again, step by step, ever so slowly and meticulously.  Buuutt…. To no avail.  Same result.  Saddened and more than a little embarrassed, I arrived at my friend’s home with the strange concoctions and a few cans of Pillsbury crescent rolls.  The crescent rolls were a hit.

So this year, same event, same friends, same potluck, and I nearly ran from the challenge but decided I had to try again, just had to.  So I dared to do bread once more.  I did some searching on the ‘net, came across a few recipes and decided to do a few trial runs early on to make sure all was well.  And guess what??  All turned out supremely well.

I settled on Cheddar biscuits, which I altered slightly into honey-cheddar biscuits (my insatiable sweet tooth revealed this yummy combination to me).  Then I made it Honey-Wheat Cheese biscuits when I changed the flour ran out of cheddar and mixed in some mozzarella.  And this time, no crescent rolls in sight – they turned out light, soft, and just scrumptious to dip into some gravy or cranberry sauce and sink your teeth into.  There would be no feeding the dog with my biscuits this year (which I believe was the ultimate fate of the monstrosities from last year).  Redemption is Sweet!

Redemption is cheesy!

Ingredients

  • 2 cups unbleached flour — sifted (wheat flour tastes really good, in my opinion, but white is just fine)
  • 4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup sharp cheddar cheese — grated (adding a milder cheese too will add to the texture without overwhelming the taste buds)
  • 1/4 cup butter (4 tbsp)
  • 2/3 cup milk
  • 3-4 tbsp honey

Begin by Sifting all your dry ingredients togeth

er: flour, baking powder, salt, and then mixing in the cheese.

Cut your butter into the dry mix, breaking it into pieces but not mixing it in too vigorously, and then pour in your milk.  Start mixing and folding the batter all together until it forms a soft dough, but again, don’t work it all in too much or else the dough will be dense and your bread will turn out tough.  I learned this step from experience, oy.

Flatten your dough out a bit and dig a well to drizzle your honey into, starting with only 2 tbsp first.  Fold the sticky ball over on itself a few times to incorporate the honey, then repeat with remaining honey..

Sprinkle a board or tabletop with flour and knead the dough  few times there, before pressing it out to about ½ inch thick. Cut out biscuit pieces – now you can use a cookie cutter, or just a knife and trace out whatever you like.  You could even be adventurous if you choose and m

ake them the shape of a turkey for Thanksgiving.  Just have fun.

Place then on a baking sheet and into a preheated oven at 450 F, for about 25-30 minutes, or until they are lightly browned and springy to the touch.  I can still smell the cheddary goo

dness melting inside…

Preferably serve them hot, so that your guests can instantly warm up and melt into the sweet, soft, and cheesy biscuits that are sure to steal the glory from that turkey, hehe. Or not.

Next time, I’m going to try out Cream Biscuits… hmm…

4 thoughts on “Redemption Cheddar Biscuits

  1. Our turkey turned out great, so I don’t think you can still its glory this year!!!! Although the biscuits were awesome. And they tasted great the next day drenched in gravy.

  2. Your turkey was really awesome, so no glory stealing, but seriously, I had my redemption and that’s what I’m thankful for this Thanksgiving. 🙂 Well, among other things of course.

Leave a Reply

