NewlyWed Exploits

Looking back on the past two months, I can really see how much I have enjoyed cooking.  Washing the dishes, not so much (that’s supposedly what G is for) but I think I am finding a groove for myself, a discovery of new flavors, talents, mistakes, and the desire to explore.  But I haven’t written about any of it because my time has been consumed greedily by the stress of trying to adapt to this “merry land.”  However, I have taken a few photos, and thought perhaps it would be nice to give a brief photographic glimpse into our humble kitchen exploits.

Eggplant Deluxe!

taste test shows... husband's approval!

A recent evening I just whipped this up out of whatever we had at home.  The eggplant was lightly seasoned and sauteed to the perfect softness; I parboiled the potatoes before seasoning them in garlic and herbs and tossing them in a frying pan, and the veggies I don’t even remember what I did.  The only miss on this near home-run was that I forgot to add salt to my yogurt sauce.  Future Reference: NEVER FORGET SALT.

No worries, you yourself need not be shrimpy to enjoy!

I made this biryani dish for Eid ul Adha earlier in November.  I have yet to make it greasy enough, but I think it turned out really well. At the time we were still missing a few spices from our cupboard, but nonetheless I was able to attain a really nice spice level without dumping TOO much chili into it.  That is a problem I’ve developed evidently–my food can be too spicy even for the G man. Oh boy.  🙂

A crunch of spring in the middle of winter is a beautiful thing!

I also made my super awesome chicken spring rolls for Eid :).  I’ll make a pot about these babies one day soon.  I’m also hoping to make some variations on it: shrimp, veggie, thai flavored, mexican style, etc.

BTW, for those who are familiar with my spring rolls, these turned out particularly breathtakingly scrumptious. 🙂

Perfect texture of cookie ever in the history of my baking!

I remember this salad having a simple lemon and olive oil dressing, but this picture is really to showcase the cookies in the background, which may look a bit misshapen, but according to G’s coworkers, were among the best cookies they had in recent times. 🙂

I like to add a little bit of almond extract to vary the flavor a bit, but only a touch.  That stuff is strong.

Christmas for Eid!

Ok these I made for Eid as well. Unfortunately I overbaked it for just a minute but that’s enough to ruin a cake completely.  A friend gave me a cakelet pan for my bridal shower and this was my inauguration of using it.  I kind of lost it with the silly decorative icing I used…

As for the consistency of the cakes, I made the same mistake for my almond and strawberry cream  cake for my engagement party–overbaking is an evil thing.

In the midst of being feasted on

Now these noodles (paired with the sweet and spicy chicken I wrote of earlier) are a recent addition to my tiny repertoire.  So simple but with just enough zest, bite, and zing that your mouth will be playing Old Batman episodes all night long (BAM! POW!).

All you need is a diced red onion (1/4 to 1/2 will do), a fresh jalapeno, seeded and diced, and four cloves of fresh garlic chopped.  To start saute the onion and pepper in a few tbsp of olive oil for a few minutes, then add the garlic.  Make sure to keep the temp medium to low so as not to burn the garlic (you’ll have to wash the pan out to get burnt garlic smell out then. ugh).  Separately boil whichever long noodle you like (I used thin wheat spaghetti), drain and set aside.

All the spices you need are chili powder, salt, lemon (or lime), crushed black pepper, and red chili flakes.  Add to your heart’s desire haha.

When the garlic has melted down enough to be soft and delectable to your liking, melt 1-2 tbsp of butter on low heat to make a spicy buttery sauce.  I added a few good shakes of hot sauce too just for more sharpness.  Add in your noodles, lightly toss and voila!

So there ya go, a few of my exploits… next time expect some notes on cakes and yumminess.

Leave a Reply

