Zesty Strawberry Cake

While I still work on developing the new direction for my site, I have a not-so-secret confession to make.  I adore peanut butter & jelly sandwiches.  What is it about the ultimate combination of savory rich PB and sweet sticky jelly/jam/or my personal favorite, preserves, slathered not too generously on soft multigrain bread that provides incomparable comfort and satisfaction?  As adults, people might look at it as a strictly childhood lunch, but I still enjoy it to my heart’s delight.

Of course I’ve expanded my tastebuds to utilize both PB and J/J/P individually (usually in decadent PB smoothies, PB an apples, or PB on a spoon!–my favorite, and by far the easiest)… and this past weekend I decided that jams are too good to use only as a decadent topper on breads.  Instead, I incorporated the strawberry jam I have at home into a moist cake recipe, making it even softer, meltier, and just downright heavenly.  I’d love to get other flavors and really experiment with fruits but for now I kept it straightforward.  And though I screwed up the icing a bit (considering I had no idea what I was doing there), it till tasted splendid too.  Even the hubby-bubby was surprised at how tasty this dessert was.

worst photo ever of a delicious cake

Ingredients:

  • 6 tbsp unsalted butter softened (3/4 stick)
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • a tiny dash of salt
  • 3 egg whites (3/4 cup)
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp orange zest
  • 4 tsp (or more!) strawberry jam

Blend the butter and sugar together on medium speed until nice and fluffy and set aside. Using two bowls,  combine the flour, baking powder, and salt in one, and the egg whites, milk and vanilla in another.

Now add the ingredients to the butter mixture, starting with the flour.  Add a third of the dry ingredients to the butter until incorporated, then alternate between the milk and flour twice, ending with the four mix again.  At this point you should have a nice moist batter, to which you throw in the orange zest, and dollop the jam in.  Mix in just until the jam is well mixed but not compleeeetely dissolved.  Also you don;t want to overmix the batter either, else it will lose its lusciousness.

Pour batter into a greased and floured 9 inch pan, and bake in a preheated oven at 350 degrees for about 30 minutes. Remove precisely when toothpick comes out cleanly, even if you feel it should have another minute.  Experience has proven to me that the extra minute ruins everything.

This was the first time I made this cake, and it turned out absolutely perfectly!  It was so frickin’ delicious, everyone loved it.  Sweet and soft and yummy!! My sister in law and a friend came over and they just raved about it–I felt as warm and blissful as that cake 🙂

As for icing, I was experimenting with a blend of butter, sour cream, powdered sugar, and a tsp of jam.  I needed to soften the butter but forgot, so it was a little …. clumpy.  I admit it. But still, the taste was fabulous.  I’ll definitely try it again once I’ve dieted this whole weekend off.

don't judge by its cover, see the soft crumbliness inside!

Ergh. It is a curse to love food this much.

Ok, new direction happening soon! I promise!

4 thoughts on “Zesty Strawberry Cake

    • You can definitely try. I think (though I’m not sure) that much of the lightness comes from only using egg whites, so replacing the butter might not affect the moist quality. You can possibly try extra light olive oil, or vegetable oil. I might do that next time, just to see.
      Also, I think tossing some fresh berries on top would be just blissful.

    • HAhaha… yeah I’ve made the resolution to not use my phone to take photos after anything is half eaten now… it makes a big difference, wouldnt you know. 🙂

      But really, the cake tastes good.

Leave a Reply

