Sweet Afternoon Scones

The first night the remaining loaf of Hawaiian bread became my sofa companion and munch buddy.  The second evening I romanced a box of toffee crunch peanuts.  Come the third night chocolate almonds tried to console my lonesome soul, as realization set in. So that today, Wednesday, I made no excuses and hid behind no illusions that a large part of why I endeavored to bake up scones was because I miss my husband and food has become my only friend in his absence.

It certainly does not help that I’ve yet to build any strong friendships, so there is no hyperbole in saying it’s my only buddy these days.  Yes, G’s sister is here now which does make a world of difference, but I’m missing the T’s and Z’s from my alphabet especially in lieu of my one and only Gman  (I refer of course to my friends frolicking in CA currently).

And so I bake.  I’ve actually taken a complete break otherwise from the kitchen—I find it is no fun cooking for one—but I do so love the sweetstuff, so I wanted to try something new today, also in an effort to stave off my mouth’s dabbling into the uninvited packaged treats hiding in my pantry.

Can you tell I gobbled half a blueberry scone up before it even hit the plate?

And hence, scones were born! And there was much rejoicing of the senses!  Ahh to drown in the aroma of a freshly baked good blossoming in the oven, to dance in the sight of a golden brown munchie, to swoon in heaven at the moist crumbliness that falls apart with buttery glee with each bite!

I experimented in many ways, especially as I’ve never made scones before.  But after some scouring of the internet to get a basic principle of the ingredients, I settled on the following concoctions to make lemon-blueberry and orange-raspberry scones!

Ingredients

  • 2 cups flour (I used 1 ½ all purpose, and ½ whole wheat)
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 tbsp sugar (can be adjusted depending on if you add other sweetness later or not)
  • ¼ cup (4 tbsp) cold unsalted butter, cut up into cubes
  • ¾ cup cream
  • 1 egg

THEN

For lemon blueberry scones:

  • 1 ½ – 2 tbsp lemon curd
  • Blueberries
  • Extra flour for rolling

For orange raspberry scones:

  • 2 tbsp orange juice
  • 1 tsp orange zest
  • Raspberries
  • Honey

It’s quite simple really. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.  Sift the dry ingredients together, and then blend in the cold butter pieces until it all looks like crumbs and bits and pieces.  Separately mix the cream (or you may try milk or buttermilk) and egg together, and add that into the dry mix, combining enough to incorporate all into a dough.  As is always the case, overworking will result in tough dough, so don’t do that.

At this point I actually split the dough in half, and followed the two recipes above, only using half the ingredients listed for each type (because I was dealing with only half the quantity of dough).

My first thought is that it would have been better in future to incorporate the lemon curd into the cream first before mixing all that in, because adding lemon curd to the dough was a little tricky, but I managed it.  Then I rolled the blueberries in flour so they would stick in place in the dough once baking, and delicately folded them in.  Then I rolled and patted out tablespoon-sized portions onto a baking sheet.

For the other variety, again adding the little orange juice and zest to the wet ingredients would be better, but it wasn’t too hard here.  The raspberries were tricky, and next time I might use dried ones instead.  They break too easily so I might just garnish the scones with one or two when I place them on the pans next time.  But I dolloped a tbsp-sized ball into the baking sheet, patted it down a bit and created a well in

which I squeezed a little honey into it.

Then I baked the scones for about 15 minutes. And Voila!

Three sweet scones and Lemon Curd

I actually only made a few, rolling out and freezing the rest of the dough to bake up when G comes back home.  I’ll also then make a glaze, possibly honey glaze, or an orange glaze to drizzle on top… but today they were so warm and perfect on this cold windy day.

I especially LOVED the lemon BB ones – with the perfect amount of sweet lemon coming out and harmonizing with the succulent blueberries.  The dough itself was not hard or tough, and not too crispy either. I like it best when its filling but light and fluffy at the same time.

Oh happy afternoon it was 🙂 .

the husband's ultimate cookie

And just to share, here are what G dubbed the best cookies ever.  They were a basic chocolate chip cookie recipe, with a touch of almond extract and peanut butter, and with white and milk chocolate chips mixed in.  YUM YUM YUM!

3 thoughts on “Sweet Afternoon Scones

Leave a Reply

