Roasted Brasaola with “Mustered” Eggplant

*And so marks the return of GautamCity! Posting his very own splendid creation. Enjoy!*

I have always had a thing for dry spicy appetizers. A couple of months ago, I discovered a very special kind of of air dried beef – ‘Brasaola’. That’s what its called. thin …very very thin slices of lean beef that come in sealed packets. Its actually ‘ready-to-eat’ out of the packet – but I felt the need to do something to it and give it some ‘stove’ treatment. I also decided I would serve eggplant with it, and so I created Roasted Brasoala with “Mustered” Eggplant.

Ingredients

  • 1 packet of Brasaola (from Trader Joes, for example)
  • ginger
  • 1 clove garlic
  • ground black pepper
  • salt
  • lime juice
  • 1 eggplant, thinly sliced
  • 1/2 tsp mustard seeds
  • 1-2 green chilies
  • olive oil
  • 1/2 small red onion

What I did first was marinate the beef
in fine ginger garlic paste. (Not the one you get at the
stores…made my very own.) 60/40 ratio of ginger/garlic ground
with fresh lime juice added to it. I then added some freshly ground
pepper (coarse) and olive oil. This was let to rest with the beef
for about 30 minutes. The eggplant in the meantime was sliced
thinly and drizzled some olive oil and lime juice. I heated some
oil, added some mustard seeds and once it began spluttering, I
added the eggplant slices and fried them, flipping them once. I
removed it after it got a nice burn to it. This was done. Now, I
folded the thin slices of beef gently to avoid the meat from
tearing, weaving in a toothpick to hold them in place. This was baked in the oven at 425 degrees preheated for about 10 minutes until you could see the meat just about get ‘touched’ with the heat. As a ‘side’ I finely chopped onions, greens chilies (de-seeded) and a drizzle of lemon juice. We were out of coriander leaves, else I had wanted to chop and add those as well. Nevertheless, Complete.

As for serving, we plated it very simply but with an appealing touch, laying out the eggplant on one side of a dish, and the meat skewers on the other side, centered around the onion chili garnish. I then instructed my lovely wife on the proper approach to consumption: picking one eggplant ‘chip’, sprinkling the onion garnish on it, and then topping it with the roasted beef. Don’t forget to remove the toothpick, unless you want to take a stab at the wild side of life.
Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

