Inaugural Butter Cookies

**HAPPY NEW YEAR!**

Christmastime sparks happiness and beauty—it’s just a festive time for all—whether you celebrate it or not, but this year I actually was surprised with a completely out-of-the-blue gift that will continue to whet my appetite for the rest of time!  On Christmas Eve I received a package at the door, entirely unexpected, only to realize that my Sister-in-law decided to give me a black KitchenAid Stand Alone Mixer!  Oh the shock! The rapture! I could distantly hear angels sing in a melodious chorus as I opened the box with delicacy reserved only for newborns I imagine.

What a treat, and I have yet to put it to full-time use, but I couldn’t resist inaugurating it somehow… eventually I’m going to make a decadent and smooth and absolutely sinful chocolate cake, but as the husband is not a huge fan of chocolate (what is wrong with men anyway?!?) I decided on a simpler task, and I fine tuned my butter cookies.  I meant to make honey butter cookies, but half way through rolling the batter onto the baking trays did I realize I forgot about honey entirely, so I did half regular, and half with honey.

I used melted milk chocolate and coconut flakes as decoration as well.

Inaugural Butter Cookies

(as always, keep in mind I purposely make as small batches as possible because I don’t have a lot of people to share my treats with yet)

  • ¾ cup sugar
  • ½ cup butter, room temperature
  • 1 egg
  • ½ tsp vanilla extract
  • 3-4 tbsp honey
  • 1 ½ cup flour
  • ½ tsp baking soda

I found a recipe similar to this online, but it also had lemon curd etc to make them lemon butter cookies.  Personally that sounds like heaven to me, but for the boy’s sake I added honey instead.

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.  In the most awesome mixer in the world (!!!!) blend the butter and sugar until well incorporated; then add the egg and vanilla extract until creamy.  In a saucepan melt the honey on low with a little bit of butter ‘til it runs a little more smoothly.  Let it cool down just a bit and add that into the mixture.  I actually forgot to do this, and thus had half regular cookies and half honey butter.

After this, add the flour and baking soda until it’s all incorporated.  Don’t overbeat, there’s no point—just turn the mixer off after a minute and get in with your hands to mold it softly into a big giant ball of buttery goodness if necessary.  With the honey I don’t think you’ll need to do that though, it’s a delightfully melty mixture.

Honey butter ones are a bit more battery, not dough balls.

Depending on the consistency of your dough, either roll out small teaspoon-sized balls onto a baking sheet, or drop the batter with a teaspoon… I garnished a couple with sweetened coconut flakes, just to see how it would turn out.  The coconut crisped up in the oven and added an extra little crunch which I liked, especially as these were chewy cookies by nature, not on the crispy side.  I imagine you add a little more flour or bake a little longer on 375 to make them crispy, but I would be guessing.  So don’t listen to me, I’m all sorts of crazy and clueless at times.

Anyway, pop them in the oven for 10 -12 minutes, until nice and golden.  They might seem a little soft when you remove them, but they firm up when cooling.  Remove them, let them cool in the pan for a few minutes then remove to a cooling wire rack if handy to cool completely.

At this point you can garnish at will, and enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Inaugural Butter Cookies

  1. These look great! Kitchenaid Mixer — your sister-in-law is a genius! It’s a staple in every kitchen. Congrats – I’m so happy for you in your newest member of the family.

Leave a Reply

