V-Day Delights Part 1: Dessert with Tiramis-Who?

I happily proclaim to be on the Valentine’s-Day-is-silly bandwagon, where one doesn’t need a commercialized “holiday” in which to declare and express his or her love for a significant other, family, or friends etc.  Do you not find something kind of… unsettling knowing that you are getting your romance on at the very same time as the retired and wrinkly old couple living next to you?  How pleasant.

That said, I will give it some credit for two reasons.  As newlyweds, I suppose we are supposed to celebrate the fact that we are together for this first Day of super-duper-Love, and will be for the rest of time (God Willing! Haha).  Second, it gives me some confirmation that G will actually get home on time, as opposed to working a little later or stopping by his sister’s place before coming home.  On a day that every single sentient being waxes poetic on what plans they have, I can pretty much expect he’ll be home on time if only because he’d feel guilty not to.   And since that’s the case, I have the opportunity to actually have an awesome dinner ready precisely when he walks in, without needing to reheat anything etc.  Plus, I do enjoy the smell of fresh flowers, so that’s a plus too.

So we had a fabulously divine and decadent dinner for Valentine’s Day.  It was the most spectacular spread I had made in a long while, but like most sweet-toothed fiends, I’m going to start with dessert first.  Back in the day, G used to swoon over the tiramisu at Cheesecake Factory.  I know by critics’ standards it isn’t “the best” because it’s overly creamy, but that was precisely what G drooled over.  Crazy Cream Lover.  Just give him a big vat of whipped cream and he’ll light up like the New Year’s Eve Ball in Times Square.

He hasn’t had Tiramisu in a long time though, so I figured I’d try it out.  Enter in little snafus, stage right.  Didn’t have time to go to any grocery stores that I knew would have the right ingredients, so I made do with the following: cream cheese rather than mascarpone, coffee rather than coffee liquor (well, we keep it alcohol-free in these here part, folks), and sponge cake rather than ladyfingers.  I know I know, you’re thinking what the heck?  But trust me, it was just sooo rich and fluffy and had just enough of the coffee flavor to make even a non-café fan like myself all dreamy.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup whipping cream
  • ¼ cup sugar
  • 2 tbsp sugar
  • 4 oz cream cheese
  • Coffee (I had to go to the ubiquitous Starbucks across the street for this, thereby buying my very first cup of Coffee EVER.  And what an ordeal that was! Coffee ain’t my thing, yo.)
  • Sponge cake
  • Cocoa Powder
  • Shaved White Chocolate

    His and Hers Desserts 🙂

This Recipe is PERFECT for two, served individually in little parfait glasses (a new acquisition in my humble kitchen, yay!).  Actually even this was too much for me, but still. It’s perfection.

Whip ½ cup of cream (reserve the rest for later) to stiff peaks, adding the ¼ cup of sugar to it for sweetness.  Put it in the fridge while you do the next step to ensure it keeps its firmness.

Next, whip together the cream cheese with 2 tbsp of sugar and 1 ½ tbsp of coffee.  I read somewhere later that you can add an egg white to cream cheese to make its consistency closer in fluffiness to mascarpone.  Honestly though, I don’t think it’s necessary.  Especially because of the next step.

Once whipped, gently fold in the whipped cream just to baaaaarely incorporate it.  This lightens the cream cheese texture even more.

Now, basically, time for assembly.

Start with cake (or lady fingers, ideally).  Dip one flat side in coffee and layer the cake on the bottom of your cups.  Next, make a layer of the whipped cream mixture, and top that off with a generous sprinkling of cocoa powder. Because G loves White chocolate so much, I also added the white chocolate shavings to his in this layer.

Now repeat with another layer of coffee-dipped cake, whipped cream and cocoa/white chocolate until you’ve finished with your whipped cream.

Lastly, whip the remaining ½ cup of cream with 1-2 tbsp of sugar into soft peaks.  Top the tiramisu with this and garnish with cocoa and white chocolate.  Ohh just behold your beautiful creation before daring to savor the rich creamy dessert.  And then devour away.

By the way, A few bites too many of this will certainly leave you in a coma, trust me (Really, trust me). But sometimes you have to allow yourself to indulge like this.  Besides, dinner was pretty healthy. That should make up for things (I’m still trying to convince myself of that).  Oy!

3 thoughts on “V-Day Delights Part 1: Dessert with Tiramis-Who?

  1. This looks fabulous! I love that you’ve used sponge cake as I’ve never been able to find the traditional ladyfingers. I might actually get to make this recipe now. Yay! Thank you for sharing it with us. Have a great weekend, Candace

  2. I feel the same way about val day. A money making scheme is all it is. If you cant buy me flowers because its WEDNESDAY, and you saw these beautiful flowers and knew how I would love them…… then dont buy them now because “they” are telling you have to do it. But I don’t mind indulging in some yummies at home hehe.

    I ADORE tiramisu! Looks creamalicious!

Leave a Reply

