Fusion Wraps

A few years ago I was a chubby chubster.  That’s what I like to call myself.  And even though I’ve slimmed down since then, I’m still just a chubby kid at heart who loves food, craves for all things sweet and succulent, and just simply adores experiencing through her taste buds.  That said, it’s quite hard to find the balance between enjoying life and enjoying health.  Actually no, that’s a lie—I’ve done quite well in discovering what foods are healthy and delicious to eat, and combining that with proper exercise.  And that’s really the entire formula, plus a major control over my eternal longing for all things bready, but we all have our vices.

And yet, every day I mentally struggle with it all.  Is this the same for other people, or have I just been programmed through my life experiences?  Why do I let these thoughts burrow into my brain with such unrelenting ferocity?  Living in a constant state of worry about gaining even a few pounds now has me on edge more than I’d like to admit, and according to my friends is liable to give me an ulcer one day.  Perhaps not, but still—I’ve been fretting too much lately against my better judgment, and now G has to tell me a thousand times that there’s more to life than all this worry.  What’s the point of cooking if you won’t let yourself really enjoy it??

Sorry for the little emotional reveal here, but I figure if I get it out there then I’m more likely to stand by my oath now to keep my pessimism in check and just continue a healthy and fulfilling lifestyle without regret and anxiety.  There it is folks!  Alya vows not to let it get the better of her!

And that is partially why I created Fusion Wraps (as dubbed by the illustrious G)! By combining Asian flair with Mediterranean pizazz, I wanted to create something fun and zesty, a celebration of the spice of life! Hahaa, what a cheeseball am I.

Ingredients

  • 1 packet of wonton wrappers
  • ½ pound of ground chicken or turkey breast
  • ½ onion, diced
  • ½ cup of diced bell or sweet peppers and/or jalapenos
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 5 tbsp soy sauce
  • ½ tsp thai red curry paste
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • Quick squeeze of lemon
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Chili powder
  • 2 tsp Cumin powder
  • Handful of Cilantro leaves, chopped
  • Roasted Eggplant and Red Pepper Dip (will endeavor to make my own later—for now used one from Trader Joes)

Oki doki, so the first part is to make the filling, which is a ground meat mixture.  Sauté the onions and peppers in a few tbsp of medium hot oil for a few minutes until they begin to turn translucent and moist.  Quickly add the garlic and let the aromas dance together until the garlic looks to have softened, to which you add the turkey or chicken meat.  Turn the heat up a little bit higher and mix until all the meat is cooked, adding a tsp of salt, pepper, and chili powder (or more or less) and the cumin.

In a separate bowl, mix the soy sauce, curry paste, honey and a tiny bit of lemon juice.  Then, when the meat has browned up into something beautiful, drizzle the sauce over it and mix thoroughly, turning the heat to low and simply letting the sauce soak into the meat and veggies.  In a few short minutes your meat should be a golden brown and ready to cool down.  Remove it from heat and set it aside to cool.

Once ready, take your wonton wrapper and prepare each in the following order:

Spread about ¼ tsp of eggplant pepper spread in the middle.  Place a small amount of meat mixture (1 tsp or so) in the middle of the wonton.  Add a few cilantro leaves for herbal zest.  You don’t want to overfill or else the wrappers will rip when you fold them, and that’s just a painful stab to the heart.

Next, take some water and rub across the four edges of the square, and proceed to fold one corner to the other, making a triangle.  Press down the edges, crimping or folding them over if necessary.  If you like, gently pull the two furthest corners a tad closer, making a slight crescent, and set aside to fry.

Heat a shallow pan with oil, on nearly high heat.  Place a few wontons in, flipping them over once, and pull them out when they are a golden sizzly color!  Serve with some eggplant dip or any dipping sauce of your liking.

Serving this alongside a deliciously simple salad (with some homemade Strawberry Balsamic vinaigrette mayhaps?? Details coming soon!) makes it even more divine.  But that’s just me.

Leave a Reply

