Superb Spinach Patties

Here’s something I did a little while ago but have decided I might share with you out of the kindness of my heart. We loved this recipe so much for its tastiness, versatility, and simplicity that I intend to use it over and over again.  I’ve already thought of a few new combinations and presentations for it actually.  This recipe came up because I was making shrimp and didn’t want to serve it alongside some basic starch—I try to make rice only once a week, and I lost a lot of weight curbing my bread intake so eating pastas or pita breads/rotis/naans all the time isn’t on my agenda either.  I don’t mind warming some up for the husband but even he wants to explore healthy alternatives occasionally.

So what about something that seems like a tostada, has a solidity that combines well with saucy shrimp, and utilizes the random ingredients in my fridge?  That sounded good to me, so I decided to dream up Spinach Patties.

Ingredients

  • 1 bag frozen chopped spinach, defrosted and drained
  • 4 cloves of garlic, crushed or finely diced
  • ½ cup bread crumbs
  • 1/3 cup shredded parmesan cheese (I used a mozzarella/parmesan combo)
  • 1 egg
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Paprika
  • Juice of ½ a lemon

The most important part of all this is the very first step: squeezing out all the water from the defrosted spinach.  Now, you might say why am I using this as opposed to fresh spinach then?  Well, you need the spinach to be wilted and moist anyway, or else it won’t mix and combine with everything else.  So, just get your hands dirty and squeeze all the excess water out.

Once done with that, simply mix all the ingredients into a mixing bowl.  The spices are as always to taste, but roughly 1 tsp of salt should do it, and just wing it on the other spices to your liking.  At any rate, mix until you have a rich, moist mixture.  Now, divide the mix into roughly 2-tbsp sized balls, and flatten each one out into a rounded patty, about ¼ inch thick, and lay them on a lined sheet pan (using parchment paper or aluminum).  Place them in the fridge for 15-20 minutes so they can firm up—this helps them to hold together better when fried.

Coat a frying pan with a little olive oil, and one by one fry the patties, pressing them down to flatten them further, and flipping them over once.  It will take about 6-8 minutes per patty.

Lay the cooked patties on a paper towel to drain any oil, then serve them warm with some lemon pepper shrimp or anything of your choosing!

Here's an option--Lemon Pepper Shrimpies!

4 thoughts on “Superb Spinach Patties

Leave a Reply

