Double Chocolate Maple Cookies

I haven’t baked in a while.  It feels rather wrong, but I have been trying in vain to control my insatiable sweet tooth.  I did make a quick berry puff with whipped cream for G and I once, but that doesn’t count because I used those packaged puff shells, and just simmered some berries in sugar and water to make a glaze to fill the shells.  That’s not baking. That’s EASY.

Nevertheless, I have been on a mission to get my exercise regimen back in shape (pun intended) so the sweets have to take a back seat.  Except when I mistakenly switch on the Food Network during what appears to be Comfort Food Weekend.  Except when I see the beauty that is a rich chocolately delicious cookie. Except when I can’t handle the withdrawal any longer and need to satisfy that stereotypical-for-a-reason female obsession for chocolate.

So I fiddled a bit and came up with this recipe for Double Chocolate Maple Cookies (with White Chocolate Chips), and then promptly made G take nearly all of them to work with him so I wouldn’t be unconscionably tempted by their alluring presence.  BTW the “double” comes from using both cocoa powder and melted chocolate in the recipe.  Delish!Ingredients

  • ½ cup all purpose flour
  • ½ cup whole wheat flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1 ½ tbsp cocoa powder
  • 2 eggs
  • ½ cup sugar
  • ½ tsp vanilla extract
  • ½ tsp maple extract (or 2-3 tbsp maple syrup)
  • ¾ cup semi sweet chocolate chips
  • ¼ cup butterscotch chips
  • 2 tbsp butter
  • White chocolate chips, nuts, whatever you like to mix in

In a double boiler, melt the semi sweet and butterscotch chips with the butter.  Essentially bring a pot of water to a boil and reduce the temp, then place a glass or metal bowl that can rest above the pot without touching the water and let the chips melt in it, stirring occasionally.  Make sure to keep the temp on low once you get the water boiling, you don’t want to overwork or scald the chocolate.

In a separate bowl, sift and mix together all the dry ingredients minus the sugar: flours, salt, baking powder, cocoa powder. Set aside.

In a larger bowl, whisk/blend the eggs together with the sugar and extracts.  I bought the maple extract recently because it was on sale, and I was curious. I usually have honey at home but not syrup so I thought this might be useful.  Feel free to experiment with syrup instead if you have it.  I like this because it will also enable me to easily make some maple and brown sugar oatmeal on my own, without having to buy the prepackaged blends.  Anyway…

Check on your chocolate and once it has al melted, let it cool down so you can mix it into the egg mixture.  MAKE SURE IT COOLS or else you’ll end up with scrambled eggs though, so be careful of that.  Once it cools a little, you can pour it in while also mixing the eggs—this simultaneous action will prevent scrambling as well.

After that, slowly add in the dry ingredients until you have a nice sloppy chocolately dough.  Mix in your white chocolate or whatever you like.  Then I ended up dolloping big ice cream scoop-fuls of batter onto a greased baking sheet, but you can divvy it p as large or small as you like, making sure to give them space to expand.

Set them inside a preheated oven at 300 degrees, and bake for about 15-18 minutes. I check them at 15 minutes, and finally pulled mine around at 17 I believe.  Perfect consistency! Perfect level of sweetness for me!  I wanted something not dripping with sugar, but to let the chocolate and maple take control, so if you like, increase the sugar to ¾ cup.

The maple has an almost coffee like taste to it, this natural smokiness that complements the cookie so well, and just YUM!  I only took a photo of one that I saved because as I mentioned earlier, I forced G to take the rest to work so I wouldn’t eat them all.  I wish I had kept them all.  But as this was actually a really quick and easy recipe, I’ll probably be doing it again.  And again.  And again.

3 thoughts on “Double Chocolate Maple Cookies

  1. The exture in your cookie looks perfect! I like the insides of my things cooked but not dry – so many folks seem to want to serve warmed gooey dough. And they’re chocolate, oh – you evil woman you!

    • Thanks! Yes I really love a firm texture that isn’t dry or crunchy… Too goooey doesn’t do it for me now. But now I have to start running consistently again, I’ve been dabbling in too many sweets!!

Leave a Reply

