The easiest chicken kabob EVER

Since I have started working, it would behoove me to concoct or search for recipes that are not as labor-inducing. Granted, if I have the inspiration and the inclination I will do whatever I want, though I have relegated myself to the truth that such magnificent enterprises will most likely take a hit and come around on the occasional weekend. But it’s okay. Now G has begun to cook more (he made the most delicious Pepper Chettinad Chicken the other day, and I can only hope he will write about it, because you all deserve to know what he has been up to) and I am learning to share my marked domain with him with more ease.

Because as much as I like to bother him that I do most of the cooking and he should take a bigger part in it, especially for someone who has such a flair for it, the truth is that cooking is not just a means of feeding our grumbly tummies for me. And recent discoveries have revealed that many of the authors I admire to the furthest reaches of my literary toes have also found peace, solace, inspiration, and fluidity of mind through cooking. Should I be worried that quite a few of these women also committed suicide? Well… perhaps I should be glad I’m not a genius published author like Virginia Woolf then.

Anyhoo, the kitchen has been my inner sanctum of control, but opening up more with my husband has blossomed into some really sensational new opportunities. For example, the first sampling of G’s Magical Masala Blends! He personally created his own spice blend, roasting cumin and coriander and some other stuff, in very specific quantities, to create this spice mixture that would knock Muhammad Ali out. It smells like a desert rose saturating the sunset air of a remote oasis. Tantalizing.

So I used it in these super quick kabobs. And we regaled in the glory of the perfect mini patty.

Ingredients

(mind you, I had only defrosted a little ground chicken, so multiply the necessary quantities depending on if you double or triple this etc)

  • ½ lb ground chicken
  • 1 small red onion
  • 1 green Serrano chili
  • 1 green onion
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp oregano
  • 1 ½ tsp garlic
  • 2 tsp g’s special coriander-cumin roasted blend (I don’t know his special ratio, but let’s say about 1/2 tsp cumin and 1 ¼ tsp coriander for the unfortunate folk lacking his spice)
  • Handful cilantro leaves, chopped

So, I always like to sauté and soften my veggies before I put them into a kabob, kofta, burger, etc. So in a small frying pan, slow fry the onions and Serrano chili (all chopped/diced) along with the garlic. Only add the garlic at the end so it softens a bit but doesn’t burn or overcook.

Once done, set that aside, let it cool down thoroughly, then in a large bowl basically mix all the ingredients together, making sure not to mix or knead the meat too much or else it toughens up by losing the moisture and air inside.

Then, score the meat, dividing it evenly into four sections, and roll each section up and flatten into a ¼ inch thick patty. Simply shallow fry in some olive oil, drain off on a paper towel, and enjoy in a sandwich, with rice or roti (flatbread) or just chopped into a salad. I was pleasantly surprised that I didn’t need egg or breadcrumbs to bind this together. But one good tip might be to make the raw patties and then set them in the fridge to hold u together more, if you find that your chicken is too wet or sticky. It’s a bit hard to drain liquid from ground chicken but try to do so as much as possible beforehand.

So that’s that! This was really the most awesome recipe in terms of well-balanced spices—so much so that I hardly added anything more “for taste” when sampling the meat by frying just a tiny smidge. Maybe some more of his spice blend, but honestly, this recipe will have your friends begging for more.

Leave a Reply

