Jalapeño Cilantro Hummus

I feel I’ve been a little unfair and mysterious about the reason behind my hiatus.  I did of course allude to an injury of sorts, but let me shed light on that before moving further—namely so you may refrain from being as stupid as I am.  Essentially I was trying to open the binding ties of a sealed box with a knife.  *Long pause* Yeah I don’t think I need to say much else, except I passed out at the sight of blood (yes I admit I am a pansy when it comes to blood, but Pottermore recently dubbed me a Gryffindor, so I’m brave too! Or just stubborn!  No matter!) and needed 8 stitches on my poor thumb.  In case you are wondering, it is still slightly numb (as if it never fully woke up) but after so many months it now has a 98% performance rating, the 2% comprising numbness and a slight inflexibility compared to my left thumb.  Such is life.  But kiddos, DO NOT USE SHARP SMALL PARING KNIVES TO OPEN BOXES.

So unfortunately this post lacks a photo right now because although I’ve been developing my skills at cooking with both good and not-so-good experiences, I had become waylaid concerning the use of the camera. For shame!  But isn’t it enough just to jot down recipes?? Trust me.  My laziness evidently knows no bounds, but I am relying on this blog to keep me steadfast in my goals. (I promise all my other posts will have photos, I just totally missed this one.)

So, tiny back story: We have the habit of trying to avoid the café at work – something about the sweat pouring off of the head chef while he sautés veggies and cooks up bacon on the same flat iron grill churns my stomach with relentless gremlin hands – so on occasion I’ll pull together some sandwiches for lunch.  This is hardly necessary while we’re fasting, but hummus is useful on its own too, obviously. 

One of the many healthier options I lean toward is using hummus for a spread rather than mayonnaise or what have you.  Honestly I don’t know why anyone would think to do otherwise after one taste of the flavorful addition to a turkey, egg, or veggie sandwich!  Seriously folks, just… seriously.  It’s awesome.  And I am no stranger to variety, so I love love LOVE finding something outside the box of garlic or three pepper hummus (although I’m not hatin’, no sirree).  So once upon a time I stumbled on a jalapeño and cilantro variety, and the husband was hooked.  Ever since, I believe some Greek god is wreaking vengeance on my existence as only those mythical petulant beings were wont to do, because I have never been able to find that hummus after the first taste.  Ohhh, beware of love at first bite, it can have painful consequences on the lovelorn tongue.

So what with the husband asking every few days about it, I took it upon myself to suck it up and make it myself.  And I would have nailed it too if not for the accidental deluge of a tad too much salt (arrrgh! Clumsy hands, be gone!).  Yum yum yum!  We had it as a dinner side for a few days, but I’m looking forward to making it again after Ramadan and using it as a spread for lunches.  And thus, without further ado, a simple recipe for tasty indulgence:

Ingredients:

  • 1 can of garbanzo beans, drained and rinsed
  • 2 jalapeños – one fire-roasted, peeled, chopped. The other just chopped
  • ¾ cup coriander leaves (cilantro), rinsed
  • ¼ tsp salt
  • 1 tbsp Lemon juice
  • Squeeze of lime
  • ¼ tsp hot red pepper
  • 1 tsp tahini paste
  • 3-4 tbsp olive oil

Honestly what could be simpler than this? The only real steps are the preparation of the jalapeños.  I chose to roast one and keep one raw for two reasons: the roasted pepper blends into the mixture and gives it the base of a spicy pepper and the raw pepper adds a nice crunch to let the taster know exactly what she is in for.

So, to roast: set the pepper on top of a gas burner and rotate occasionally until fully charred black. Alternatively you can roast in the oven, just rub with a little olive oil and flip it once in a while.  Once charred, let cool down, and then using a fork or butter knife, scrape the charred skin, thereby removing all the waxy bits and leaving with a soft, slightly sweetened (from roasting) pepper ready for blending.  Chop the other jalapeno into rough big chunks, and then add EVERYTHING into a blender.

Yeah, how simple is that folks?  Once you have blended it to a creamy texture of your choosing, you can start tasting for flavor.  Add a little more lemon, or salt, etc, and just mix it in. Over-blending will lose the consistency you adore, so be wary.

Try it!  Spread on toast, dip with pita chips, eat with a spoon!

And I promise photos from here on out—I really wanted to get this post out there though; it makes me so happy! How do you feel about it?

Leave a Reply

