Sesame Sauteed Asparagus

Next up in our quest of the quick and easy, I bring you Sesame Sautéed Asparagus! Things are starting to get wild and crazy ’round these here parts, so I haven’t had the time to write up anything. Expect some (relative) brevity from yours truly until she finds routine again. Once I’ve settled good and proper, I can update you on all the goings-on of our current existence.

Being that I had some asparagus remaining after my foray into the land of the Quiche, I could not let that go to waste, especially that of the fresh organic variety. The taste speaks volumes… nay, Epics! And considering the husband did not run from their sight upon his discovery within aforementioned quiche, I knew I had a winning ingredient. I cannot stress enough how difficult it has been in the past year and a half to solve the riddle evoked from his tongue—mysterious oft-times vegetarian with a penchant for the shrimpies and the roost, prithee tell me for what purpose you run from the green goodies lest they are diced up tiny tiny bit style? I don’t give him enough credit—G does eat a lot of veggies, just in a particular fashion. But I would not be overcome by this obstacle; I would have my asparagus (as I wanted it) and eat it too! And I like mine Long! Stalky! With a fresh crunch! YUM!

I came across a recipe that called for simply frying the asparagus and then adding some final touches, but I wanted to take it a step further. I wanted not only to tame the wild stalker but reinvent it in the husband’s eyes. So I dredged up the Asian flavors and pounded in some spice. This was served with some super duper marvelous accompaniments, and when I have the chance you’ll be soon hearing about those too. For now, green is a go.Ingredients

  • Fresh asparagus, trimmed at the root and chopped once in half
  • 1 tsp minced garlic
  • 1 tbsp soy sauce
  • 3 tsp sesame seeds
  • 1 tsp agave (or honey)
  • 1 ½ tsp chili pepper
  • Squeeze of lime (optional)

In a frying pan, heat a few tbsp of olive oil on medium-high heat and add the asparagus. Cook them, tossing once in a while, for 5 minutes and then lower the heat to medium and add the garlic. During this time the asparagus will slowly get greener and brighter. Add the sesame seeds and toss so they coat the asparagus and also get roasted a bit. Add the soy sauce, agave and chili pepper. Toss for a few more minutes and cook until the asparagus reach your desired level of cooked crunchiness.

Squeeze lime on if you like.  May even sprinkle some extra sesame seeds once done, then remove and enjoy! Perfect with some chili garlic noodles, some crispy tofu mayhaps… some good stuff coming.

FYI, the husband did like them. Said it was the best asparagus he had to date.  And then I ate the rest of them.

Leave a Reply

