Mango Peach Cream Biscuits

Firstly firstly, Happy Father’s Day to all the caring, hardworking, relentlessly devoted, eccentric, and charmingly annoying dads out there. I’m fortunate enough that my dad is visiting us this weekend, so we’ll be treating him to something special and tasty. May you all have something special and tasty on your day too.
As for these scrumptious treats, as you know the department in which I work has suffered some losses in the past month. For the most part people lift their heads up and carry on–as is the only choice one has when affected by tragedy–but still the sadness lingers, especially on those closest to my coworker.  I thought it might be nice to bring a little treat in for them as a pick-me-up. It just so happens that I’m on a desperate spree to clear out everything in my kitchen to the best of my ability, so I figured now was high time to use the frozen peaches that lingered for too long cold and unwanted.
I also had a super ripe mango, which would be perfect for a baked good (the mushy sweetness contrasts with bright textured biscuit).  Fruit componont, check! Now for a recipe… And that’s where one of my favorite blogs, Smitten Kitchen, delivered. She recently posted a Strawberry and Cream Biscuit recipe, and I basically wanted to eat the photos. That has to be a good sign right?
So I swapped tropical mango and peach for the strawberries and endeavored into new territory. I’m not a huge biscuit baker.  My friend Zee can attest to that fact, having experienced the equivalent of doggie treats for a Thanksgiving get-together. Thankfully since then I have improved light years, but… let’s face it, dog biscuit quality is a severe low. How does one redeem themselves from that?
Hmm. Well, it might be wise to me familiar with your oven.  Have a quiet sit-down with it, reflect on what makes it all fired up, how it deals with being stuffed with goodies all the time only to lose them humans’ insatiable appetites.  And definitely establish firmly how it will affect a tray of, say, biscuits on the middle rack and the one right below it.  When you have an older fuddy duddy oven in your apartment, JUST TRY to remember that the heat is fired up straight from the bottom and will definitely leave a slight char on the bottom of lower placed items.  *Sigh*. I usually know this, but decided to forget that important tidbit when I popped these in.
So, I made one batch of crisp perfect slightly sweet biscuits (consistency of a scone) which are matched perfectly with whipped cream or a generous sprinkling of powdered sugar by the way. And I had another batch that were just as enjoyable at home. By me. And anyone else who likes that Super extra crisp on the bottom. And by crisp I mean the burnt-to-a variety.
Ok that rambling aside, you’ll enjoy these, especially fresh out of the oven.  They have such a light crisp flaky interior, and when you plunge into a bite of juicy melty fruit you’ll swoon in tropical paradise.
Ingredients
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 1/4 cup sugar (or more, if  you like it sweeter. I wouldn’t go over 1/2 cup)
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 6 tbsp cold, unsalted butter
  • ¾ cup chopped overripe mango (overripe mangos are much juicier, but you can use a firmer one as well)
  • ¾ cup frozen peaches, defrosted and chopped
  • 1 cup heavy cream

Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Line a large baking sheet with parchment or aluminum.
In a wide bowl, mix together the flour, baking powder, sugar and salt. Chop in the cold butter (I just diced it up and tossed the bits in), cutting it in with a pastry blender if you have one, or just mixing in with your hands as I did (for whatever reason I didn’t feel like getting the blender out). You should end up with a crumbly mixture, with tiny bits of butter rolling around. The butter needs to be cold to get that crumbly texture.

Add the chopped fruit and gently fold in so that they are completely coated by the mix, then stir in the cream. I don’t mean vigorously: just lightly fold it in with a spoon or spatula, incorporating as best you can. It doesn’t need to be evenly mixed, quite alright actually. You just don’t want to overwork it so that it becomes tough and solid when it bakes.
When you can’t mix anymore with a spatula, just get in there and knead it manually a couple times to get the dough into one big lump. Flour your counter top or work area liberally, and plop that lumpy mass down, sprinkling flour on top as well. This makes it easy to roll out without sticking. Be mindful, there will be fruity juiciness going everywhere, but don’t worry about that, the more the merrier :). Roll it out to about ¾ inch thickness, using a rolling pin or just your hands, evenly pressing down everywhere.

Now, you can use a cookie or biscuit cutter, the edge of a glass or similar to cut out circular rounds, OR do as I did and slice it up into a mosaic of triangular and quadrilateral shapes… Would be a great way to teach your kids what a trapezoid is versus a diamond haha. Carefully transfer your biscuits to your baking sheet, with few inches space between them. Feel free to re-roll and cut out the remaining dough if you used a cutter so you use up all the dough.

Bake the biscuits for 12 to 15 minutes, until golden bronze around the edges. Cool in the pan for a minute, and then transfer to a cooling rack. Serve warm or at room temperature.

Since I made these for work, meaning I prepared the biscuits before hand and baked the next morning. All you have to do is freeze the biscuits after you’ve cut them out, and then when you want them just pop them directly in the oven, adding a few minutes extra to your baking time.  Granted, I botched my baking and kind of had to scrap half of them (and consequently hide them from half of my department. I’m sorry! I admit it! I had baked goods at my desk and just kind of passed them to anyone who walked by, completely discreetly.  My bad. The shame, it consumes me!!

Yum yum, dollop whipped cream and wonder how an afternoon tea delight can mix with tropical flavors with such ease.

2 thoughts on “Mango Peach Cream Biscuits

    • It is! I lvoe refreshing combos like that! I see you’ve been on a mango kick lately too (glanced at your blog). Thanks so much for taking the time to look at mine!

Leave a Reply

