Broccomole! (Broccoli and Avocado Dip)

Another notch on my quick and easy belt as I pondered over a musing I had in a previous post. But obviously I did not have silken tofu at home (nor did I have the desire to go out and buy it). However, I have been on a quest to clear out my fridge without adding unnecessarily to it (so that means I can spend $40 on milk, eggs, and other… essentials… Yeah I’ve been craving zucchini and we always need ice cream, so naturally that’s a necessity?). I had visited our local farmers market the past weekend and acquired a few fresh goodies, many of which will be featured in the next few posts, but among those goodies I bought rugged bunch of broccoli.

Oh but what a magnificent tree it was! Large enough to scribe tales of fanciful adventures lurking beneath every floret. I’m currently imagining a tiny lumberjack peering perilously upward, trying to ascertain the pinnacle of this green behemoth, thoughts of regret dripping like sweat over having to rely on such a huge veggie as sustenance for the rest of the year, just like the previous five years… I’m starting to think I need to focus on my creative writing more, because its filtering into this blog in the most unseemly and random ways. Imagination! Rein thyself in!

So I had a beautiful bunch of broccoli, and I also had avocados… well, they’re both green, so why not try it? And this would really be a smart way to get some kiddlings to eat broccoli without even knowing it, especially if they like Mexican food.

So I bring to you, Broccomole.

Ingredients

  • 1 avocado
  • 1 cup steamed broccoli
  • 1/2 red onion, diced
  • 1 jalapeno, chopped (first charred on a flame if possible)
  • 1 tomato, diced
  • juice of half a lime
  • 4 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1 tsp of salt

Steam the broccoli until nicely soft, even slightly overdone is okay.  They key is for it to not have any toughness, crispness, rigidity at all.  Let it cool and in a large mixing bowl, mash it down with your hands, squeezing out a lot of the excess moisture.  Next, peel a ripe avocado and mush it up with a fork or your hands if you prefer , mixing it with the avocado.  Combine all the remaining ingredients and mix vigorously.  Actually, the avocado I used was not as soft and mushy as I’d have liked, so I placed the avocado, broccoli and onions in a blender for a few seconds. After that I combined the rest of it.

I had the husband sample this with a healthy dose of lentil crackers (gluten free and delicious!) and he had no idea there was anything else in the guacamole.  That is the best of the best, when you can achieve pure mysterious magic and make something utterly disappear! Almost as amazing as making broccomole float, wouldn’t you agree?

2 thoughts on “Broccomole! (Broccoli and Avocado Dip)

Leave a Reply

