Sundried Tomato Hummus

The mission: empty out the pantry.  The challenge: don’t buy anything else to fuel the possible recipes gallivanting through your head. The struggle: but what the hecks do I do with cream of wheat, curry leaves, and light brown sugar? (answer: nothing… yet).

While certain combinations won’t see the light of existence, some other medleys worked out far better. Although every minute that I spend inside my apartment is overlaid with the mantra, I need to pack I need to pack I MUST NEEDS PACK, I find myself cooking instead.  Call it stress relief. Or denial.  Whatever. I need to get rid of my groceries too, okay? (technically it’s not that big of a deal, as we are moving into his sister’s place close by first, and then the ALL IMPORTANT MYSTERIOUS SHIFT SHALL OCCUR IN THE MIDST OF RAMADAN AND FASTING. Nevertheless, would rather clear it all out now.)If you saw my apartment, you might remind me that Saturday is not far away and I shouldn’t be wasting my time whipping up impromptu food and writing about it. Come on, Alya! You already have a line up of recipes with stories itching to be told! What makes you think some random hummus, HUMMUS for goodness sake, deserves this much attention?

Simply because I created something out of necessity and loved it entirely way too much.  You might be (dis)heartened to know that the kitchen is officially off the air, with the exception of the dramatic flairs of cereal consumption, so that’s improvement at least.  One last share before the big disembarkation! Oh Saturday! you loom like a drooling troll’s overgrown whiskers.  I do not anticipate much glee to be had in trimming you down.  But it must be done.

But wait! Before the epic transport begins, let me divulge my easy recipe with you!

Ingredients

  • 1 can of (organic) garbanzo beans, drained and rinsed
  • 5 small green chilies, roughly chopped
  • 1/4 cup sundried tomatoes (in olive oil)
  • 1/4 cup Extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 tsp lemon juice
  • 3 tbsp tahini (sesame paste for the unawares)
  • salt to taste

This basically evolved from emptying a lot of my stores, and thankfully the ratios of ingredients worked out well. Huzzah! First, bring a pot of water to boil and cook the beans until tender.  For whatever lame reason, the brand that I had refuses to become soft no matter how long I cooked them, so my hummus was a little grainy. The taste was there, my texture not so much. Alas.

Anyhoo, once cooked, combine ALL ingredients into a super duper blender and let the ninja whack it to a fine paste.  You might want to adjust certain ingredients for flavor, adding more lemon or tahini etc, depending on what you like.  But what emerges is an exquisite cross breed of cultures in one little side. Serve with some fresh or toasted pita bread or, as I had, lentil crackers, and devour!

I added a bit of water to mine to account for the grainy quality, by the way. Just FYI.

All right, off to sleep so that tomorrow brings me one step closer to madness. Three cheers for aching backs and exhausted nerves!

2 thoughts on “Sundried Tomato Hummus

Leave a Reply

